The Western Ohio Advocacy Network (WOAN) is comprised of 37 superintendents representing their respective school districts.  The purpose of this organization is to have a collective voice in Columbus when discussing issues and legislation related to how school districts operate.  Issues involving school district autonomy, student and teacher assessments, and school funding are all top priorities that WOAN looks to assess.  The superintendents associated with this organization gathered together to develop a comprehensive advocacy/communications plan allowing them to integrate all the organization’s communications, public education, and advocacy efforts.  By planning a long-term strategy, these superintendents will be positioned to be more proactive and strategic, rather than consistently reacting to the existing environment. These strategic plans will help WAON deploy resources more effectively and strategically by highlighting synergies and shared opportunities in various programs and work areas.

Members have undergone advocacy training courses designed to break the political structure down into manageable segments.  Once advocates learn who they should target for specific issues, they are then instructed on the different methods for targeting these individuals and creating the greatest impact through their efforts.   

School Districts and Superintendents

Ada Exempted Village

Allen County ESC

Ansonia Local Schools

Apollo Career Center

Auglaize County ESC

Bath Local Schools

Celina City Schools

Coldwater EVSD

Columbus Grove Local 

Continental Local Schools

Cory-Rawson Local Schools

Crestview Local Schools

Eaton Community Schools

Fort Recovery 

Franklin Monroe Local Schools

Hardin Northern

Lima City Schools

Lincolnview Local Schools

Marion Local School

Meri Skilliter

Craig Kupferberg

Jim Atchley

Keith Horner

Shawn Brown

Rich Dackin

Dr. Ken Schmiesing

Jason Wood

Nick Verhoff

Danny F. Kissell

Robert Hlasko

Kathy Mollenkopf

Jeff Parker

Justin Firks 

Jeremy Pequignot

Jeff Price

Jill Ackerman

Jeffrey T. Snyder

Mike Pohlman 

Mercer County ESC 

Miller City-New Cleveland


National Trail Local Schools

New Bremen Local 

Ottawa-Glandorf Local Schools

Parkway Local Schools

Preble County ESC

Riverdale Local Schools

Shawnee Local Schools

Spencerville Local

St. Henry

St. Marys City Schools


Van Wert City Schools

Vantage Career Center

Wapakoneta City Schools


Shelly Vaughn 

Kerry Johnson

Brenda Boeke

Robert (Bob) Fischer

Jason Schrader

Don Horsman

Jeanne Osterfeld

Mike Gray

Jeff Young

Jim Kanable

Dennis Fuge 

Julie Garke

Bill Ruane

Josh Sagester 

Vicki Brunn

Rick Turner

Aaron Rex

Chris Pfister